Official website of the Paralympic Movement
High Contrast
Normal Contrast
Larger Font Size
Default Font Size
Smaller Font Size

    Governing Board

    The IPC Governing Board following its election at the 2017 IPC General Assembly. The IPC Governing Board following its election at the 2017 IPC General Assembly. © • NPC UAE

    The Governing Board is currently composed of 15 members, of which 12 are elected at the General Assembly (President, Vice-President and 10 Members at Large). The Governing Board, collectively, is the representative of the IPC General Assembly. The Governing Board is responsible for setting the policies and for ensuring that the directions set by the membership at the General Assembly are implemented. It meets at least three times a year and meetings are chaired by the President. Two members of the Governing Board are ex-officio members, including the Athletes' Council representative (with voting rights) and the IPC CEO (without voting rights). The Governing Board may have up to three co-opted members.

    The Governing Board is primarily responsible for the implementation of policies and directions set by the General Assembly. Additionally, the Governing Board provides recommendations on membership (conditions for membership and fees) to the General Assembly, including motions received from members. It is also responsible for approving budgets and audited accounts, IPC rules and regulations, membership of IPC Committees and the Paralympic Games.

    The Governing Board is elected every four years and members can serve a maximum of three terms. The most recent elections took place on 8 September 2017.

    Contact person: Verena Conrad, verena.conrad@paralympic.org

    * ex-officio member with voting right

    ** ex-officio member without voting right

    ***co-opted member without voting right

    Governing Board
    Function Name
    President Andrew Parsons (BRA)
    Vice President Duane Kale (NZL)
    Member Debra Alexander (ITU)
    Member Mohammed Alhameli (UAE)
    Member Muffy Davis (USA)
    Member Rita van Driel (NED)
    Member Sung Il Kim (KOR)
    Member Luca Pancalli (ITA)
    Member Leonel da Rocha Pinto (African Paralympic Committee)
    Member Tim Reddish CBE (GBR)
    Member Juan Pablo Salazar (COL)
    Member Yasushi Yamawaki (JPN)
    Athletes' Representative* Chelsey Gotell (CAN)